January Retreat and Quilting Goals

I’m not much of a New Year’s resolution person, but I do like to take some time at the beginning of each year to write down some monthly goals in different parts of my life. One of those parts is quilting. I like to draw my focus to both a “new” project and a UFO (unfinished object). I focus on making progress on both of the projects each month. My list for the year is not complete, but here is what I have to work from so far. As you can see, it’s a dry erase board, so it is subject to changešŸ˜€. 

This weekend I was able to really make some progress on my list while attending my quilting guild’s 3 day retreat. We spent three days in a local hotel’s conference rooms with our projects and friends. I spent 2 of the days working on the big stitch hand quilting of my Blue Bird Crock quilt.

I was also able to spend one of the days with my Featherweight, Fern, and my Talking Turkey quilt project that I started in August 2015 when I took the class from Bonnie Hunter in Bedford, PA. I still have a long way to go, but progress has been made on sashing for the blocks and the first border. Here is photo of one of my blocks. 

The time with my quilting friends is the cherry on top! It was such a relaxing and inspiring weekend. Here are just a few of the quilts that were shared this weekend.

Looking forward to the next retreat in June!

Leave a Reply

